The Merging of Old and New in my Life?

Huh? What does that mean exactly?

I guess I should explain the post title shouldn’t I? I mean the mixture of the older technologies and the newer ones in my personal life to try and make my life maybe a little better and happier!

As I stated on another post talking about cooking technologies, I’ve gone back mostly to using cast iron cookware. For my particular situation, it fits my needs the best. Since I like to camp, cook at home and be prepared for emergencies brought on by bad weather, I chose cast iron to be my cookware.

I also chose it for another reason. A reason that seems now more like a pipe dream than something obtainable but I guess we should all dream some right?

What is this dream exactly?

The dream as it stands right now is to obtain a RV. A reasonable Class C would work beautifully and for us (me, my wife and boxer dog) to travel this country and hopefully get to see places before my health gets to the point in which I cannot drive or do much.

Let’s get the above statement cleared up. NO, this is not a plead for a handout or anything of the sort!!! It is a statement of fact! The many years of having diabetes and the other health issues that I’ve seemed to inherit from my mother are starting to plague me now.

I’m in a study concerning the diabetes and hoping to have some of the other things looked at however the other issues that are occurring right now cannot really be helped. They can be slowed down but not stopped or reversed.

Hence the wanting to get out there and explore while I can. I used to drive semi-tractor trailer for a living and saw quite a bit of this nation through the windshield however I couldn’t really stop and enjoy it for two reasons. One is I usually had a appointment to either pick up a load or drop one off. Two was that vehicle wasn’t welcomed in a lot of places where I wanted to go see. Hence I want to take my wife on a adventure around this nation to see things that she may only get to see on the internet or if we can get this off the ground, through us actually doing it!

OK We now know your dream. How does this tie into technology (your Mistress)?

Well fine reader, I’m getting ready to tell you. Thanks for letting me dream some and now I will correlate the two together.

The RV will have technology on it when we obtain it. My first priority besides to ensure that the vehicle will be safe for travel is to look over the equipment on the RV and see what we will need to replace or fix to make our journeys comfortable and pleasant.

Most RV’s use a old technology to heat, keep your food cold and cook. They use propane gas. I need to make sure that this works correctly and has no leaks. This technology using gas being more specific has been around a while and as far as cooking goes, it is a good way to start learning how to cook on a flame.

Depending on age, the RV may have some pieces of equipment that are out of date and inefficient! For example the old “boob tube” TV’s that actually had a tube in them. These things draw more power than a more modern LED or LCD set. The entertainment systems in there might not meed our wants or needs so that might be swapped out for better and more efficient ones.

Computers will be a issue and one that I’m still debating over. I still wish to go to some sort of Apple computer but the one that I will choose will depend on the RV size and what I and my wife are doing. I’m thinking maybe of a nice iMac or maybe two MacBook pros?

Still trying to nail this down. We have been trying to keep only things in our home that can be multi purposed. This to us are more useful and we will tend to keep these items longer.

Powering up your technology is always a concern. So checking the house batteries (the batteries that are usually separate from the main starting system of the RV) that powers up the living area of the RV are in good shape and I’m looking into another technology to help keep them powered up. Solar.

Solar? Why?

Yes it isn’t perfect and yes it can be expensive at first. However when you are constantly putting fuel (whether it is diesel or gas) into your fuel tank because of running the generator or doing your maintenance sooner again because of the amount your running the generator, the solar system can quickly help save up some cash.

No I’m not going to be one of these preppers or doomsday people however I will maybe once all the traveling is done, maybe get a piece of land and homestead on it.

Even on the road or in a quaint environment, I will still have that Mistress around. It cannot be helped. The RV will most likely have a computer running the engine and other functions required for operation, if I go solar I will have that technology to deal with, the built in systems in the living area of the RV will have their technology that I will have to deal with as well as our personal technology that we bring along with us!

So even simplifying my life down I cannot escape technology especially me being a technology geek! I still love a lot of the simpler technologies but some of the modern ones do make our lives better and more entertaining.

My life just isn’t simple is it?

I think I can see the correlation. I never really thought about it this way.

Yes even though the RV may be looked at as a high tech piece of equipment, some of the technology that is used have their roots coming from the old school but with some new school thrown in. I may even merge the technologies to make the experience more comfortable and more efficient. Efficiency here is the key! The more efficient, the better!

So I think that I rambled on enough for one post I think. I wished that it was not raining today so I can get outside and see if I can nail down this issue with the Jeep! A better diagnostic tool would help but the ol’ purse strings are tight at the moment so I have to deal with this the best way I can by employing some old school methods!

So maybe us dinosaurs have a place in modern times?

Who knows. Maybe.

 

Leave a Reply

